2011 ends with a Bang! December weddings, and Print orders fulfilled! Ring in the New Year, its time for an exciting year of photo adventures in 2012!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2011 has had its challenges. That’s for sure.

Yet, 2011 presented an amazing year in terms of developing as a photographer, and an exciting year of journey into the art of photography.

Limited as I was physically, I tried to develop regardless. One year ago exactly, I started the series ‘From my Window,’ and, spent time on developing an online gallery.

The Catherine Herrera Photography Gallery is a place to share new projects, the locale from which to send up ‘Daily Fotos’ series, and Print Gallery to offer prints directly.

Studio work has grown to be a bigger part of my tool kit as I once again sought ways to grow as a photographer, despite physical limitations. This year, I collaborated with an author to produce the cover image for her book. Not only was I delighted to try my hand at working in the studio space where as I am so used to being out in the streets, I really enjoyed the creative collaboration.

I am now actively seeking more authors and creatives that seek classic photography for innovative projects to share on traditional and new media products.

Its been many years since I’ve gone into a lab to print a customer’s order. I miss those days in the darkroom, I didn’t know why or how, but I loved that darkroom space, and the joy in seeing the image appear from the developer. This year, I began collaborating with a local, quality print shop in San Francisco. Dickerman Prints brings back the darkroom experience in the anticipation of opening that box to see the stellar work of the printers in every printed photograph.

I am now able to offer clients a trusted, museum-quality, archival professional print for all orders online or on assignment.

I can now trust that even the non-archival prints and products are printed for affordable prices at premium quality too by way the easy online ordering process for Catherine Herrera prints and products.

The new print system has opened up another area of unexpected joy in seeing which photographs people are most drawn when ordering prints, which moment they most connect.

Last but not least, in my work close to home, I’ve begun working as a specialty wedding photographer for clients venturing to City Hall for their special day.

I am enjoying this shift in photography, from a purely documentary/photojournalism approach, to expand into new work processes, new clients and new growth as a photographer.

I had an inkling that photography was a never-ending journey with many roads to travel, and its that eternal growth process that keeps me engaged these 20-odd years later.

I have not stopped the documentary work completely. I am continuing a portrait series of urban Native Americans residing in the Tenderloin of San Francisco. I am seeking funding to continue with the California Missions project, a series of photos to accompany poems about the Missions written by the Cherokee poet, Kim Shuck. Last but not least, I am archiving my photographic work from the last 26 years.

It’s hard to believe so much time has passed when it seems only yesterday I was starting out, struggling to overcome the admonishing from outside to not see what I saw with my camera, and even more difficult, the internal reclamations to overcome regarding the right to dream of being a photojournalist/photographer. Now, I work committedly to improving my craft, and refining my approach as a photographer.

I am so excited to continue this journey of exploration in 2012! I hope you’ll join me…

___________________________________________________________

If you are interested in supporting any of the Catherine Herrera Photography projects, please donate $10 or more today to Catherine Herrera, a fiscally sponsored project of Fractured Atlas.  A secure, online donation can be made by clicking the Fractured Atlas link in the sidebar.

Consider purchasing a signed, archival print from the Catherine Herrera Photography Gallery to contribute proceeds to the projects described above.